Sandy Springs Youth Sports

This year’s recipients are Ryan Zaparaniuk and Nina Parker.

At the end of the spring season, Sandy Springs Youth Sports honors one graduating 12-year-old baseball player and one softball player for their excellence at the park over their years in the program.

The Lee Haertel Award is given annually to the 12-year-old national league player who displays excellence on the playing field, in addition to exhibiting utmost sportsmanship, citizenship and scholarship. 

The Jonathan Worrell Award is presented annually to the 12-year-old softball player who defines an MVP. She not only excels through her playing ability, but also through her sportsmanship, being the best teammate she can be, and for serving as a role model for the younger girls in the program.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.