DEKALB COUNTY, Ga. — The March 24 race for DeKalb County sheriff will include nine candidates on the ballot. 

The sheriff is a constitutional officer elected to four-year terms to serve as the chief law enforcement officer in the county, although the county police and 10 municipal police departments cover most first response law enforcement.

The sheriff’s office is responsible for operating the DeKalb County Jail, housing and executing arrest warrants, securing the county’s court buildings, serving court summons and transporting jail inmates. 

In November 2019, then Sheriff Jeffrey Mann retired and appointed Chief Deputy Melody Maddox to fill the seat until this spring’s election. If no candidate wins a majority of the vote, a runoff election between the top two vote recipients will take place on April 21. The ultimate winner will serve until the end of 2020, when Mann’s term would have ended. 

Candidates for DeKalb County sheriff

Geraldine Champion, Independent

Champion is a retired homicide detective who also ran for sheriff in 2016.

Harold Dennis, Independent

Dennis is a former DeKalb deputy who ran for sheriff as a Republican in 2016. 

Adam Gardner, Democrat

Gardner is a homicide investigator for the Fulton County District Attorney’s Office. 

Ted Golden, Democrat

Golden is a retired Drug Enforcement Administration agent who also ran for sheriff in 2016. 

Antonio “Block” Johnson, Democrat

Johnson is a military veteran and former marshal in Fulton County.

Kyle Keith Jones, Democrat

Jones is a retired law enforcement officer and businessman who also ran for sheriff in 2016.

Melody M. Maddox (Incumbent),


Maddox served as the Police Chief at Georgia Piedmont Technical College before serving as Chief Deputy for the Sheriff’s Office. 

Carl Mobley, Democrat

Mobley is a retired DeKalb County Police officer.

Ruth “The Truth” Stringer, Democrat

Stringer is a Marine Corps veteran who briefly served as interim sheriff in 2017.

Load comments